The largest collection of documents on the history of the visual arts in the United States. Collections include the papers of artists, dealers, critics, art historians, curators, and administrators; also the records of art dealers, museums, and other art-related businesses, institutions, and organizations. Documents on microfilm are often available for interlibrary loan. Increasingly, documents are being digitized and are freely available online.
International index to articles in fine arts journals, book reviews, and articles in museum bulletins. Covers all periods, places, and genres of art, from classical antiquity to the present. Archaeology, architectural history, museum studies, and the decorative arts are also included.
Coverage: 1984 to the present. (See Art Index Retrospective for coverage from 1929 – 1984.)
Index to articles in fine arts journals, book reviews, and museum bulletins. Covers all periods, places, and genres of art, from classical antiquity to the present. Archaeology, architectural history, museum studies, and the decorative arts are also included.
Coverage: 1929 to 1984. (See Art Abstracts for coverage from 1984 to the present.)
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews. Covers modern and contemporary arts from the late 19th century onwards. Includes traditional media such as illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing; also includes photography since its invention, performance art and installation works, video art, artists books, and other areas of contemporary art.
Coverage: 1960 to the present.
Comprehensive database of fine art AND decorative art auction sale results worldwide from 500+ international auction houses. Fine-art search is by artist's name; decorative arts can be searched by object type and description. Information given for each work includes artist, title, year, medium, dimensions, auction house and date of sale, estimated price and sale price. Includes color images of many works.
Coverage: 1985 to the present
ARTstor contains curated collections of art images and associated cataloging data contributed by member libraries and museums, the tools to store and display images, and a 'restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.' Access is by IP address, but each Clark user must register individually. Talk to a librarian about off-campus use.
Still the most scholarly and comprehensive database for post-classical art of the western world up until 2008, when it lost funding. Index to journal articles, exhibition catalogs, book and exhibition reviews, dissertations, and individual chapters in books.
Coverage: 1973 - 2008. See International Bibliography of Art (below) for 2008 forward. In the Clark library, see Reference call number ZN5300 R46 for print volumes covering 1910 - 1973.
Index to masters’ theses and PhD theses in all subject areas, granted by universities in North America, Canada, Britain, and Europe. Many dissertations added after 1997 are available as full-text.
Coverage: 1861 to the present. Abstracts from 1980.
Indexes books, journal articles, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1420 to the present. Does not include book reviews. See America History and Life for coverage of the U.S. and Canada.
Coverage: 1955 to the present.
Indexes 'nearly all' art journals published in the U.S. during the 19th century. Each issue is indexed in its entirety, including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements. Citations, with some abstracts.
International Bibliography of Art, successor to Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA), provides authoritative coverage of international art historical scholarship including European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Indexes 600+ core journals; includes detailed coverage of monographs, essay collections, conference proceedings and exhibition catalogues.
Coverage: 2008 to the present.
Williams College Libraries integrated library catalog. Use the Browse search to find specific titles/authors in the library's collection. Use the default search to find books, articles, newspapers, dictionary and encyclopedia articles, dissertations, and other materials, many of them full-text.
Union catalog provides access to the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide: academic and research libraries, public libraries, national and regional libraries, special (law, art, music, corporate, medical, etc.) libraries, and K-12 libraries. Includes records for books, journals, electronic resources, visual materials, musical scores, maps, and archival collections.
New / Trial Databases
We are not evaluating any trial resources at this time.