PaintingsPrintsDrawingsPhotographsSculptureDecorative arts
The AmericasUnited KingdomEurope"Non-Western" (e.g. Asia, Africa)
Catalogues raisonnesPrimary source materialsArchival materialsAuction salesExhibition catalogs and reviewsProvenanceMuseum collection catalogs
This is the "Finding books" page of the "Graduate students' guide to resources in art history" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Research guide for graduate students in art history lists core resources, print and electronic.
Last Updated: Nov 22, 2016 URL: http://libguides.clarkart.edu/ArtHistoryResources Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search Clark/Williams collections

Use the Clark online catalog to access the Clark library’s collection, which is rich in all areas of art theory, history, methodology, and philosophy.  The Clark library’s collection development mission (in a nutshell) is to collect materials in all languages on Western art and on art history, from the Renaissance to the present.  Several years ago, as the result of a grant to the Research and Academic Program to bring in scholars studying non-Western art, the Clark library expanded its collection development policy to collect material on contemporary African, Asian, Eastern European, and Latin American art as well. 

 

Search Francis – the Williams College Library’s online catalog – to access Sawyer Library’s stronger collections on architecture, on Ancient and Medieval art, and on non-Western art.

 

Search consortial collections

        

In addition to books in the Williams and Clark libraries, Williams students, faculty, and staff have access through the Williams Library website to NExpress, a consortium of eight New England partner colleges, and to the BLC (Boston Library Consortium), a consortium of many other major New England libraries such as Brown University, the Boston Public Library, Boston University, University of New Hampshire, and the University of Massachusetts.  

Materials found using NExpress and BLC can be requested electronically (using the Williams circulation barcode on the back of your ID) and picked up at Sawyer; delivery time is usually two to three days.

 

Search libraries worldwide

WorldCat

Arguably the most important item in any researcher's toolkit, WorldCat is a vast database that represents the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide, including every academic and research library in the United States, many libraries in Britain and Europe, and increasingly libraries in Asia, Australia, and Africa.

Worldcat is accessible through the Clark library’s Electronic Resources page and the Williams College Library website. WorldCat’s member libraries include every type of library: public, academic, research, special, and K-12 school libraries. 

Click here to access the Clark library's WorldCat, which offers more robust search capabilites and links to the Clark interlibrary loan service.

Click here to access Williams WorldCat, which links to the Williams College interlibrary loan service.

If you do not have access to either campus or to the Williams proxy server, search the free Internet interface: WorldCat.org.

Artlibraries.net

Artlibraries.net is an international union catalog of an ever-increasing number of art libraries, mostly in the U.S. and Europe, including many European libraries whose holdings are not represented in WorldCat.

More than just a union catalog for books, artlibraries.net gives access to ca. 13 million records (as of September 2012, not counting the targets Google Books and HathiTrust), including a high percentage of records for articles in periodicals, conference papers, festschriften, exhibition catalogues and exhibition books, etc., and an increasing percentage of records for archival and photographic materials as well as for online resources.

 

Interlibrary Loan

Students in the Clark/Williams Graduate Program in the History of Art may request materials not held in either library through the Interlibrary Loan programs of EITHER the Williams College library or the Clark library. The general rule of thumb is:

  • Request non-art materials through Williams.  If available through the consortium they will arrive more quickly, and you can check them out and take them home.
  • Request art-related materials (especially those available in only a few libraries) through the Clark.  Materials received through ILL@TheClark are in-library use only and must be kept in your carrel, but because of consortial agreements the Clark can often get things that art libraries would not normally loan.

Click here for access to your Williams ILL account:

Click here for access to your Clark ILL account.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip