This is the "Internet Resources" page of the "The Print: History, Theory, and Practice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Print: History, Theory, and Practice   Tags: catalogues raisonnes, conservation, prints, techniques  

Last Updated: Jun 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.clarkart.edu/Prints Print Guide RSS Updates

Internet Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Hiroshige Utagawa, 100 Famous Views of the Provinces (Shokoku Meisho Hyakkei): View of a Promontory

Hiroshige Utagawa, 100 Famous Views of the Provinces (Shokoku Meisho Hyakkei): View of a Promontory.

Color woodcut on paper, 1859-1864.

Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, Williamstown, Mass.

 

General Resources

ArtCyclopedia

Searchable website with links to information on artists, art movements, works of art, art galleries and sales, and art museums.  Search for artists by name or browse by art movement, and click on links to images of works of art on museum websites.  Some parts of the database are available only to subscribers; Clark does not subscribe.

http://www.artcyclopedia.com/

 

 

Art History Resources on the Web:  Prints and Photography

Gateway site; includes links to museum websites and those areas of online websites (such as Michael Greenhalgh's site at the Australian National University and the Web Gallery of Art) having to do with prints.

http://witcombe.sbc.edu/ARTHprints.html#prints

 

 

Bibliography of Print Publishers' Stocklists

A list, compiled by Peter Fuhring, of publishers and dealers of prints active in Europe and the Americas before 1900, along with the date of publication of their catalogs or stocklists, which are identified only by their dates.

http://bingweb.binghamton.edu/~gmckee/Fuhring/List.html

 

 

Print Council of America

Offers a spare but carefully chosen selection of resources for the study and care of prints, including basic bibliographies on the care of prints, printmaking techniques, researching the authenticity of a print, defining a print, and determining the value of a print, plus general publications and links to online resources. Also houses the "PCA Search Index to Print Catalogues Raisonnés" (annotated above), the online version of The Print Council Index to Oeuvre-Catalogues of Prints by European and American Artists.

http://www.printcouncil.org/index.html

 

 

Museum and Library Websites

The Albertina Collections Online


Search more than 100,000 objects in the online database of Vienna's Albertina Museum. Results include bibliographic information and high resolution images. 

http://sammlungenonline.albertina.at/default.aspx?lng=english

 

 

The British Museum: Collection Online

Searchable database of the online collection database at the British Museum.  Search the site by keyword, e.g. an artist's name, subject, technique (search "etching" for example).  Unlike most sites the information that accompanies each work includes robust and scholarly discussion, bibliography, and a thumbnail list of other similar works.

http://www.britishmuseum.org/research/collection_online/search.aspx

 

 

Connecticut College Wetmore Print Collection

Website created by the Connecticut College Visual Resources Department on the Wetmore Print Collection and the Black Print Collection: original etchings by Rembrandt, woodcuts and engravings by Dürer, and Japanese woodcuts, as well as a collection of prints by three American artists.  Browse the indexes to find images and cataloging information.

http://oak.conncoll.edu/visual/

 

 

Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco Collections Online

Searchable database of the FAMSF collections, including the Achenbach Foundation for Graphic Arts.  Advanced search interface no longer available. Search the website (as opposed to the ImageBase) for "achenbach" to find out about recent exhibitions of material from the Achenbach collection.  Click "Collections" and "Works on Paper" to find out more about the Achenbach collection and to see highlights from it.

http://deyoung.famsf.org/search-collections

 

 

Hermitage State Museum Digital Collection: Paintings, Prints, and Drawings

Browse the online collection by selecting category, then type, then  "browse by artist" or "browse by title"; or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. 

http://www.hermitagemuseum.org/fcgi-bin/db2www/browse.mac/category?selLang=English

 

 

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division, Prints and Photographs Online Catalog

Browse featured collections, or use the box at the top of the page to search the collection of almost 112,000 prints from 1450 to 1997 by artists around the world. Select options at left to browse by Creator/Related Names, Subjects, or Formats.

http://www.loc.gov/pictures/ 

 

Louvre:  Inventory of the Department of Prints and Drawings

An exhaustive catalogue of the museum's 140,000 works on paper, by some 4,500 artists. It provides access to the drawings, cartoons, pastels, and miniatures listed in the original handwritten inventories of the Cabinet des Dessins of the Musée du Louvre and the Musée d'Orsay. Works may be searched by inventory number, artist, school, date, subject, or technique, or in the context of the history of the collection. Information about the artists (in French) is also provided (lives, works, style).

http://arts-graphiques.louvre.fr/fo/visite?srv=home

Note: Dec. 19, 2013: This website is currently inaccessible, and it is unclear if this is a long or short-term issue. As an alternative, artworks can be searched for via this page: http://www.louvre.fr/en/departments/prints-and-drawings

 

 

Metropolitan Museum of Art, Department of Drawings and Prints

Browse or search over 100,000 works in the museum's collection. To search, click "View all artworks within Drawings and Prints", and then use the options on the next page to refine your results.

http://www.metmuseum.org/about-the-museum/museum-departments/curatorial-departments/drawings-and-prints

 

 

Museum of Fine Arts, Boston: Department of Prints and Drawings

Browse the MFA's extensive collection of works on paper by following links at the bottom of the page, or search by clicking "Advanced Search" at the top left of the page. 

http://www.mfa.org/collections/prints-and-drawings

 

Museum of Modern Art

Search almost 19,000 online works from MoMA's Department of Prints and Illustrated Books. 

See also the website for the2008-9 MoMA exhibition The Printed Picture, which explores the history of the printing of images, and includes short videos and information about many techniques, including various forms of digital printing. 

http://www.moma.org/collection/search.php

 

National Gallery: Search the Collection

Search the National Gallery of Art collection.  Searches can be performed using artist name, keywords, credit line, provenance name, accession number, exhibition history, and/or catalogue raisonné. In many cases records include full-screen and/or detail images; in addition, records often provide provenance, inscription, exhibition history, and bibliography.

http://www.nga.gov/content/ngaweb/Collection/collection-search.html

 

 

Spencer Museum of Art Printroom

Enter search terms in the box at upper right of screen to access the SMA's print collection, including works by Cranach, Durer, Holbein, Mantegna, van Leyden, and others. The printroom's website also includes a page on print connoisseurship, a glossary of printmaking terms, and highly detailed image maps of different printmaking techniques.

http://www.ku.edu/~sma/prints.html

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip