LibGuides: Images: finding, using, and citing them: Find public-domain images

Work of art reproduced in Wikipedia (see below)

Schiele, Egon. Selbstporträt mit gesenktem Kopf. 1912. Oil on panel. Sammlung Leopold, Vienna. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia, Wikimedia Foundation, 21 May 2005. Web. 15 August 2013.

Featured resource

PUBLIC DOMAIN IMAGE RESOURCES

Provides an extensive listing of resources under the following headings:

Find images in the public domain

Copyright Friendly Image Resources
From teacherlibrarianwiki: Most of the images in the linked collections include images with a variety of less restrictive licensing.
Image*After
Image*After is a large online free photo collection. You can download and use any image or texture from the site and use it in your own work, either personal or commercial.
Internet Archive's Moving Image Archive
Contains digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films to daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons, and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
LACMA Image Library
LACMA Image Library, images of works in the public domain are now available at high resolution, free of charge, and without restriction. Images that are deemed “Protected Content” have restrictions. See http://www.lacma.org/info/TermsofUse.aspx.
Open Clip Art
This project aims to create an archive of clip art that can be used for free for any use.
Public Domain Sherpa
This page lists resources for high-quality public domain photographs

Rights finder tools

The following tools will help you answer such questions as:

Is this image in the public domain?

What are the copyright restrictions for this image?

Restricted licensing

Creative Commons Meta Search: You should always verify that the work you are re-using has a Creative Commmons license attached to it.

How to apply licensing filters and provide attribution:

Stock images

Stock images are usually found in commercial collections in which case the image can be purchased for a fee; however, there are many free collections as well. Additional collections can be identified by searching normal search engines by subject, ie. engineering stock images.