Find illustrationsFind news imagesFind art reproductions
MLA Citation RulesChicago Manual of StyleAPA Citation RulesAttribution Best Practices
Image Editing Tools OnlineDigital Imaging and Scanning
Museum and library websitesArchitecture & PlanningAdvertisements
This is the "Find news images" page of the "Images: finding, using, and citing them" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Images: finding, using, and citing them   Tags: advertisements, architecture, images, museums, public domain, urban planning  

Last Updated: Jan 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.clarkart.edu/FindingImages Print Guide RSS Updates

Find news images Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Find news images

The following resources are subscription databases available to Clark/Williams students, faculty, and staff and in the Clark and Williams libraries.

A P Images (1844-) 

Current and historical archive from the Associated Press. Includes over 1 million primary source photos, 24,000 maps, logos, and graphics, and more than 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920's. 

The default search is for International Images 
For charts, graphs or drawings select the option "Graphics". 
Special search options include: Concept, Color, Category, Photo type. 
See User Guide for more information.
 

 

ProQuest Historical Newspapers (US) (Coverage Varies) 

Searchable full-text articles and images from:

Boston Globe (1872-1981) 
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Chicago Defender (1921-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1988)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1998)
Hartford Courant (1764-1986)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1988)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
New York Times (1851-2008)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1994)
Washington Post (1877-1995) 

To find images, limit search by "Document Type": Photo standalone, Comic, Display Ad, Editorial Cartoon

Harper's Weekly (1857-1912) 

Definitive newspaper of record for the latter part of the 19th century and early 20th. Had broad national distribution with circulation peaking at 300,000 and an effective readership of at least half a million people. Includes illustrations. 

In the Full Article Text searches, limit search by "Features": Advertisement, Cartoon, Illustration, Map, Panoramic View, or Portraits. Browse topics by choosing Finding Aids; topics can be limited by advertisements and illustrations. 

 

Illustrated London News 

The Illustrated London News, launched by Herbert Ingram in 1842, was the world's first illustrated newspaper and is an unequalled visual document of the past 160 years. As well as being an excellent resource for images of events and personalities, the collection also boasts a rich seam of illustration by some of the great artists of the period. 

 

Times (London) Digital Archive (1785 - 2007) 

Scanned version of the London Times. Contains full content of the newspaper including advertisements, editorials, reviews, stock exchange tables, and weather reports. See Sunday Times for Sunday edition. 

Limit your search to "Articles With Illustrations" or select "Picture Gallery" for photographs only. 

Expanded Academic Index (1980-Present) 

Multi-disciplinary index to scholarly academic and general interest periodicals. 

Limit your search to "Documents with Images" 

 

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) and Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983-Present)

Index to articles in popular, general interest magazines published in the United States and Canada. 
This index does not include images but you may use the "Physical Description" field to retrieve articles including illustrations, portraits, charts, maps, etc. Use the Find Text button to locate article in the library.

 

AP Image

Tsering, Topgyal.  "India Ramadan."  Associated Press, 8 Aug. 2013.  AP Images.  EBSCO.  Web.  8 August, 2013.

 

Illustration from Harper's Weekly by Winslow Homer

Homer, Winslow.  Seesaw - Gloucester, Massachusetts.  Harper's Weekly, September 12, 1874: 757.  HarpWeek: Electronic Access to Harper's Weekly: 1857-1912. Web. 8 August, 2013.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip