Find illustrationsFind news imagesFind art reproductions
MLA Citation RulesChicago Manual of StyleAPA Citation RulesAttribution Best Practices
Image Editing Tools OnlineDigital Imaging and Scanning
Museum and library websitesArchitecture & PlanningAdvertisements
This is the "Find art reproductions" page of the "Images: finding, using, and citing them" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Images: finding, using, and citing them   Tags: advertisements, architecture, images, museums, public domain, urban planning  

Last Updated: Jan 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.clarkart.edu/FindingImages Print Guide RSS Updates

Find art reproductions Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Image of an architectural model

Xanakis, Iannis.  Philips Pavilion at Brussels International Exhibition,1958.

Ran, Ami,  "Musical architecture: Le Corbusier's strange case of Iannis Xenakis."  Architecture of Israel No. 89 (May, 2012): 12-17.  Illustration p. 15.

(This image was found using the Avery Index and captured using Jing.)

 

Find published images

Many databases allow you to search for images published in articles, books, and other sources.  Those databases listed below that include full-text links will take you directly to the image if the resource is an e-journal to which we subscribe.  In cases where no electronic source is available, the database will provide a citation that can be used to track down the print journal, from which  the image can be scanned.

Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984)
Art Abstracts (1984-present)

Companion indexes to art journals covering the art of all time periods and all geographic areas.  From the Advanced Search screen, limit your search: find the Document Type box and select "Art Reproductions."   Full-text links available.

 

America: History and Life
Historical Abstracts

Companion databases to journals in the field of history; AHL covers the Americas and HA covers everywhere else.  Find images by limiting a search to Document Type = Images.  (Be aware that this search  finds articles categorized as images and may miss scholarly articles that include images.)  Full-text links are available.

 

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

From the Advanced Search screen, limit a search by selecting from various options in the Physical Description box, including:  aerial images, sketches, designs, engravings, elevations, plans, illustations, plans, photographs, models, and maps.  Use the CTRL key to select more than one.  Full-text links available.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip