This is the "Home" page of the "Photography: researching its history, processes, and photographers" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Photography: researching its history, processes, and photographers  

Last Updated: Apr 5, 2016 URL: http://libguides.clarkart.edu/photography Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Looking for the most highly recommended resources?

If so, check out the resources marked with asterisks!

These resources are recommended as particularly indispensable, authoritative, comprehensive, or just plain useful.

 

Useful quick links

Clark library online catalog

Use the library online catalog to search:

  • by Title to find specific books that you already know about
  • by Name to find books on a given artist or by a given author
  • by Keyword to find books on particular topics

Library electronic resources page

Browse databases and websites, organized by subject, that can be used to find articles, books, dissertations, images, and other material.  While subscription databases will only be available on the Clark/Williams campus, there are many other useful online resources that are freely available.

WorldCat

Arguably the most important resource in any researcher's toolkit, WorldCat is a vast database that represents the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide. The Clark's link to WorldCat allows for nuanced searching and the placing of Interlibrary Loan requests for registered students, faculty, and staff.

WorldCat.org

Not on the Clark campus?  Search WorldCat online!

Other Related Guides

Check the following guide for information on finding, manipulating, and citing images.  Citations for images in this Photography libguide follow the Chicago Manual of Style format, but other formats can be found in the Images guide.

Welcome

Use this guide to find Clark library and internet resources for study and research in the field of photography, including standard reference sources, books and websites on the history and technical aspects of photography, indexes and databases for finding articles on photography, photographic image websites and databases, and biographical sources.

The Clark library's David A. Hanson Collection on the History of Photomechanical Reproduction, which documents the history of photomechanical printing from its development in 1826 through the perfection of three-color printing at the beginning of the twentieth century, can be explored through the library's online catalog and through a collection of digitized images.  Click the David A. Hanson Collection tab (above) for more images and information.

Cave, Henry. Woodburygravures from Photographs in the Ruined Cities of Ceylon. London: S. Low, Marston and Co, 1897.

      
     

    Your Comments are Appreciated

    Was this information helpful?

    How useful is this page?
    (1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

    Additional comments:


    Your Email:


    Guide creator

    Profile Image
    Karen Bucky
    Contact Info
    The Clark Library
    225 South Street
    Williamstown, MA 01267
    413-458-0532
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip